Sample Natal Astrology Chart


Natal Astrology Chart


Table of Astrological Symbols.

Planet Symbols:

Zodiac Sign Symbols:

Aspect Symbols:

Planetary symbols

zodiac sign symbols

Aspect symbols

Information on the Astrology chart:

  • The outer "rainbow" coloured ring represents the twelve divisions of the sky as these circle the earth due to its rotation. These twelve division together are known as the "zodiac", which is a classical Greek word that means "animals" and alludes to the fact that in the ancient zodiac all the signs were designated by animals (as is still the case in Chinese astrology).The modern zodiac signs are, in order: Aries (the Ram), Taurus (the Bull), Gemini (the Twins), Cancer (the Crab), Leo (the Lion), Virgo (the Virgin), Libra (the Balance), Scorpio (the Scorpion), Capricorn (the Goat), Aquarius (the Watercarrier) and Pisces (the Fishes). The zodiac signs provide the qualities that enables an astrologer to interpret the personal attributes of a person.
  • The white circle further in, contains the planets together with the numbers that indicate their positions along the zodiac. The term "planet" also comes from classical Greek and means "wanderer". This refers to the planets independent movement along the background of fixed stars. Astrologers consider the seven classical planets that were known to the ancients: Sun, Moon, Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter and Saturn, each of which is associated with a specific influence. Many modern astrologers also consider the more recently discovered planets: Uranus, Neptune and Pluto. In addition to the planets, there is the Part of Fortune, which is a mathematical point in the sky, and the Ascending and Descending Nodes of the Moon, which are places in the zodiac where the Moon appears to reverse it northward or southward direction of travel.
  • The grey circle, which is the third circle in, contains the twelve Houses. The Houses are fixed divisions of sky from the perspective of an observer on the ground. The First House starts at the Ascendant, which is the eastern horizon where the Sun, Moon and other planets rise, while the Seventh House starts at the Descendant, which is the western horizon where the Sun, Moon and planets set. The Medium Coeli or Midheaven is located at the start of the Tenth House; it is the point in the sky directly overhead the observer, while the Imuum Coeli starts at the Fourth House and is directly opposite the Midheaven, below the observer's feet. Each House is seen by an astrologer as relating to a specific aspect of a person's life and physical environment.
  • The white and innermost circle contains the lines that link aspects - which represent meaningful relationships - between planets and/or important points in the sky. The details of these aspects are shown in the large triangular table on the lower part of the page. Aspects broadly consist of two types: harmonious, which are trine (120) and sextile (60) aspects, and inharmonious or stressful aspects, which are square (90) and opposite (180) aspects. Another aspect is the conjunction, where planets line up together. This can either be a beneficial or an adverse aspect, depending on the planets involved. The astrologer takes the nature of an aspect into account when interpreting the chart. Some astrologers also use other aspects than those listed, but the ones given above are the main and most important aspects used in classical astrology.

return to Natal Astrology page

Copyright 2004 Time Lords Astrology.